UPSC Eligibility Criteria

The complete UPSC eligibility criteria for the IAS exam are explained in detail in this article. The IAS preparation begins with incurring accurate knowledge of the eligibility criteria for the exam.

The UPSC notification for 2022 has been released on 2nd February 2022 by the commission. The Prelims 2022 will take place on June 5, 2022. The candidates can download the official notification PDF from the linked article.

UPSC Eligibility – Latest Update

The UPSC 2022 Notification was out on 2nd February 2022.  One more chance in UPSC 2021 for the candidates who did not make the final shot at the civil services exams in 2020 has been consistently in the news. Recently, the Supreme court had allowed candidates to give a representation before the Central government for what it termed as a ‘lenient view’ over this appeal. However, the court denied sending any directions to the central government for the same. “We are not expressing any opinion regarding resolution,” the Court noted.

IAS Eligibility Overview

IAS Exam Age Limit 21 to 32 years
Age Relaxation As per category (mentioned below)
Educational Qualification for IAS Graduation
Nationality Indian citizens only

UPSC Age Limit – Minimum and Maximum Age for IAS

UPSC Age Limit for Civil Services Exam 2022

The candidates should have attained 21 years of age and be less than 32 years of age as of 1st August 2022 i.e., the candidate must have been born not earlier than 2nd August 1990 and not later than 1st August 2001. The official notification will carry UPSC Age Limit 2022 details.

Category Minimum Age Limit for UPSC Maximum Age Limit for UPSC
IAS exam Age Limit for General Category 21 32
EWS 21 32
SC/ST 21 37
IAS OBC Age Limit 21 35

Civil Services Age Limit is important in the eligibility criteria. Therefore, candidates applying for UPSC Exam must check what is the age for the IAS exam before filling out g the online application form.

IAS Eligibility – Age Relaxation & Number of Attempts

(Civil Services Age limit relaxations, as discussed below, will apply).

UPSC Exam Age Limit for General, SC/ST, OBC & Other categories
Category UPSC Age Limit- Upper Relaxation Number of Attempts
General 32 6
OBC 35 9
SC/ST 37 Unlimited (Up to age limit)
Disabled Defence Services Personnel 35 9
Ex-Servicemen 37 9
Persons with

Benchmark Disability – EWS (Economically Weaker Section)

42 9

For details on the physically handicapped category, see the images below:

upsc physically handicapped









IAS Eligibility- Educational Qualification

The academic requirements as per the IAS Eligibility Criteria are given below:

Minimum qualification for UPSC exam: The candidate should have a degree from Government recognized Universities or possess an equivalent qualification.

Candidates who are appearing for the final year or awaiting results are also eligible to appear for UPSC preliminary Examination. All candidates who are likely to appear for IAS exams should have proof of having passed the said examination along with the application for the main IAS examination.

Candidates who are having professional and technical qualifications are recognized by the Government as equivalent to professional and technical degrees.

Medical students who have passed the final year of MBBS, but are completing their internship are also eligible for IAS. Although, along with the Main Examination application, a certificate of course completion (including internship) from the concerned authority of the University/Institution need to be submitted.

IAS Eligibility- Nationality

For IAS and IPS:
  1. Candidate must be a citizen of India.
All other Services:
  1. Candidate must be either: –
  2. A citizen of India, or
  3. A subject of Nepal, or
  4. A subject of Bhutan, or
  5. A Tibetan refugee who came to India before 1st January 1962 intending to settle in India permanently, or
  6. A person of Indian origin (PIO) who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Ethiopia, Zaire, and Vietnam intending to settle in India permanently.
  7. The candidates belonging to categories (2), (3), (4), and (5) should produce a certificate of eligibility issued by the Government of India. Such candidates may take the exam before getting the said certificate of eligibility, but he/she would get the offer of appointment only after the Government of India has issued the certificate.

Note: A person belonging to categories (2), (3), and (4) is not eligible for appointment to the Indian Foreign Service (IFS).

Summary of UPSC Eligibility Criteria for IAS Exam

Below is a summary of IAS eligibility criteria that mentions the UPSC maximum age limit, count of attempts, relaxations, and more. Candidates must satisfy the following conditions to be eligible for the UPSC IAS Exam:

Nationality for IAS exam: Must be a citizen of India, a person of Indian origin, or a subject of Nepal, Bhutan, or Tibet settled in India before 1st January 1962.

Education Qualification for the IAS exam: The candidate must possess a Graduate Degree from a recognized University.

UPSC Civil Services Exam Age Limit: The candidate must be a minimum of 21 years of age and must not be more than 32 years of age.

Category-wise UPSC CSE age limit, relaxation, and maximum attempts-

  1. General Category & EWS: 32 years; 6 attempts.
  2. OBC (with certificate): 32 years + 3 years; 9 attempts.
  3. SC/ST: 32 years + 5 years; unlimited attempts.
  4. Physically Disabled: 32 years + 10 years; Gen/OBC/Person with Benchmark Disability (EWS category)- 9 attempts & SC/ST unlimited attempts.
  5. Jammu & Kashmir Domicile: 32 years + 5 years + (3 years, if OBC OR 5 Years, if SC/ST); Number of attempts depends on the reserved category.
  6. Disabled and discharged Defence service personnel: 32 years + 3 years + (3 years, if Gen/OBC OR 5 years, if SC/ST)
  7. Ex-Servicemen Commission Officer: 32 years + 5 years + (3 years, if OBC OR 5 Years, if SC/ST).

Leave a Comment